Journal of Surgical Simulation 2017; 4: A: 2 - 2

Published: 19 January 2017


Oral presentation

Special Issue: The National Safety Standards for Invasive Procedures (NatSSIPs): beyond the WHO checklist

Annie Hunningher
Corresponding author: Annie Hunningher, NatSSIPs Lead, Department of Anaesthesia, Royal London Hospital, Barts Health NHS Trust, London, UK. Email:


The WHO Safer Surgery Checklist is a successful safety intervention which has been recommended in UK surgical practice since 2009. The National Safety Standards were published in 2016 and go 'beyond the WHO' to collate national learning from harm and never events into a new set of standards for surgical and other invasive areas, e.g. radiology, cardiology, etc. The document goes beyond the WHO to recommend a series of standards which includes organisational and sequential sections but also reinforces the importance of human factors, teamwork, improvement and culture. The organisational standards include the wider safety system; governance and audit, workforce, documentation, handover, scheduling, local induction and team training.  The sequential standards incorporate the five steps in the WHO Safer Surgery Checklist but with three additional steps making 'The NatSSIPs 8’ with site marking, prosthesis verification and prevention of retained foreign objects. The aim of the NATSSIPs is to standardise, harmonise and educate to create safer care in invasive areas. 


National Safety Standards for Invasive Procedures; NatSSIPs; WHO Checklist; safety standards; surgery; invasive procedures

Additional Information

This presentation was given at the 6th Annual Homerton Simulation Conference: Safety Engineering and Simulation in Healthcare, Homerton University Hospital, London, UK, on 1 December 2016.

Conflicts of interest: none declared.